Community

In Switzerland, there is a growing community of Wikimedia contributors who volunteer to add content to Wikipedia, Wikimedia Commons, Wikidata, and other projects supported by the Wikimedia Foundation. Wikimedia CH supports the community with micro-budgets for projects, including lending photographic equipment free of charge, and paying for travel expenses and participation to events related to Wikimedia projects. No less important are the contribution workshops to Wikimedia projects that we organize with the community, as well as our information and networking events.

Our work supports free information tools such as:
Wikipedia, the online encyclopedia
Wikimedia Commons, a multimedia database
Wikidata, a collaborative open database
Kiwix, an offline version of Wikipedia
Wikibooks, a collection of textbooks
Wiki Medicine, an offline medical encyclopedia
Wikinews, a free, neutral news source

Diversity
Wikimedia CH stands for diversity and equality among contributors and content. We work to ensure that all of our programs and projects benefit a maximum number of people across the country, giving priority to initiatives that address diverse target audiences (i.e. language, gender, disability, other minorities, etc.). Wikimedia CH invests significant resources to make Wikimedia projects more inclusive and representative.

Community Innovation
Wikimedia CH aims to step up as an association in order to build and nurture a technical community for individuals and companies. The aim of this initiative is to become an incubation hub for new projects and ideas in the field of free knowledge.

Editathons and Hackathons
Wikimedia CH regularly works with different partners in Switzerland to co-organize Wikipedia Editathons or Open-Source Hackathons. These events unite people from different backgrounds to come together, share their knowledge and experiences to promote free knowledge and an open Internet.

Kiwix – made in Switzerland
Kiwix is the offline reader for Wikipedia and other Wiki projects and has been developed with the support of Wikimedia CH. Kiwix allows access to free knowledge anytime, anywhere, but particularly in places with no or unreliable internet connectivity. Kiwix allows for the storage of the entire Wikipedia on a single flash drive or even on a cell phone. It currently helps more than 3 million people around the world – from Cuba to West Africa to Antarctica, or even in prison education programs across Europe and the US. The Orange Foundation for example uses it in nearly a thousand digital schools across West Africa.

We invite you to visit our Become a volunteer and join us in one of these projects!

Community

In der Schweiz gibt es eine wachsende Gemeinschaft von Freiwilligen, die Inhalte zu Wikipedia, Wikimedia Commons, Wikidata und anderen von der Wikimedia Foundation unterstützten Projekten verbessern oder hinzufügen. Wikimedia CH unterstützt die Community mit Mikro-Budgets für Projekte, darunter die kostenlose Ausleihe von Fotoausrüstungen, die Übernahme von Reisekosten und die Teilnahme an Veranstaltungen im Zusammenhang mit Wikimedia-Projekten. Nicht minder wichtig sind die Beitragsworkshops zu Wikimedia-Projekten, die wir mit der Community organisieren, sowie unsere Informations- und Netzwerkveranstaltungen.

Unsere Arbeit unterstützt kostenlose Informationsquellen wie:

  • Wikipedia, die Online-Enzyklopädie
  • Wikimedia Commons, eine Multimedia-Datenbank
  • Wikidata, eine kollaborative, offene Datenbank
  • Kiwix, eine Offline-Version von Wikipedia
  • Wikibooks, eine Sammlung von Lehrbüchern
  • Wiki Medizin, eine Offline-Enzyklopädie für Ärzte
  • Wikinews, eine kostenlose, neutrale Nachrichtenquelle

Vielfalt von Inhalt und Freiwilligen
Wikimedia CH steht für Vielfalt und Gleichberechtigung von Mitwirkenden und Inhalten. Wir arbeiten daran, dass alle unsere Programme und Projekte einer grösstmöglichen Anzahl von Menschen im ganzen Land zugute kommen, indem wir Initiativen Vorrang einräumen, die sich an unterschiedliche Zielgruppen richten (z.B. Sprache, Geschlecht, Behinderung, andere Minderheiten usw.). Wikimedia CH investiert erhebliche Mittel, um Wikimedia-Projekte integrativer und repräsentativer zu gestalten.

Technische Innovation
Wikimedia CH engagiert sich als Verein, um die technische Community mit Einzelpersonen und gleichgesinnten Organisation aufzubauen und zu pflegen. Ziel dieser Initiative ist es, eine Inkubationsdrehscheibe für neue Projekte und Ideen im Bereich des freien Wissens zu werden.

Editathons und Hackathons
Wikimedia CH arbeitet regelmässig mit verschiedenen Partnern in der Schweiz zusammen, um Wikipedia Editathons oder Open-Source Hackathons mit zu organisieren. Diese Veranstaltungen vereinen Menschen mit unterschiedlichem Hintergrund, um sich zu treffen, ihr Wissen und ihre Erfahrungen auszutauschen, um freies Wissen und ein offenes Internet zu fördern.

Kiwix – eine Idee aus der Schweiz
Kiwix ist der Offline-Reader für Wikipedia und andere Wiki-Projekte und wurde mit Unterstützung von Wikimedia CH entwickelt. Kiwix ermöglicht den Zugang zu kostenlosem Wissen jederzeit und überall, insbesondere an Orten ohne zuverlässige Internetverbindung. Kiwix ermöglicht die Speicherung der gesamten Wikipedia auf einem einzigen Flash-Laufwerk oder sogar auf einem Handy. Derzeit hilft es mehr als 3 Millionen Menschen auf der ganzen Welt – von Kuba über Westafrika bis hin zur Antarktis oder sogar bei der Ausbildung in Gefängnissen in ganz Europa und den USA. Die Orange Foundation nutzt sie beispielsweise in fast tausend digitalen Schulen in Westafrika.

Wir laden Sie ein, unseren Freiwilligenbereich zu besuchen und sich einem dieser Projekte anzuschliessen!