Wikipedia Day with General Assembly

Wikipedia & AI: The race for free knowledge

On 27 April 2024, Wikimedia CH will embed its General Assembly (GA) in a Wikipedia Day in Welle 7, Bern. Our guests will experience a day of  talks, networking opportunities, insights to Wikimedia CH’s programme, exciting partner projects, and much more.

Please read Wikimedia CH’s annual report 2023 and get informed about our activities in 2024 by our annual plan. It is aligned with the Movement strategy as well as with our 2022-2026 strategy. You are invited to comment on the discussion page.

Good to know

  • The event and the GA are open and free for everybody. Registration is recommended by April 20 at the latest.
    Please let us know if you need a baby sitter.
  • In the GA, only active members have the right to vote. Read more about all members rights and obligations in our Bylaws, §4.
    All members will get an official invitation. You want to become a member? Here we go!
  • Food and drinks will be provided for registered people only.
  • Helping hands wanted! All voluntrees who want to give active support in this event, please contact us via events@wikimedia.ch
    (THANK YOU IN ADVANCE!)
  • The event will be filmed and photographed. We will provide red lanyards for anyone who does not wish to be photographed. The photographers and filmers engaged by Wikimedia CH have been informed of this.
  • Further information will follow here as soon as possible.

Our speakers and panelists

Lisa Stähli, Moderator

Lisa Stähli is a Product Engineering Lead at the Esri R&D Center Zurich, Board Member and Head of Press at Girls in Tech Switzerland and creator of the Hello 50:50 World initiative. In her role as a Product Engineer Lead, she operates at the intersection of engineering, product design, and leadership. She is a passionate activist and community builder around the topics of diversity and inclusion in the tech industry and beyond.

Alec von Graffenried, Mayor of the City of Bern

Alec von Graffenried has been Mayor of Bern since 2017. He was previously a lawyer and governor of the administrative district of Bern, before becoming a member of the National Council and working as a director at construction company Losinger Marazzi AG. As mayor, he is committed to urban planning, culture, regional cooperation and the accelerated digitalisation of the city administration, among other things. He thinks Wikipedia is the best thing on the Internet.
Photo: Stadt Bern

Patrick Karpiczenko, comedian and expert for generative AI

Patrick Karpiczenko was born in Berne and educated at the ZHdK Film School in Zurich. He works as a writer, director, and comedian for film, television, and the stage, and is a columnist for print media (Tagesanzeiger, NZZ, Beobachter). He is the creator and showrunner of various television formats and performes stand-up comedy on stage. He is the founder of the production company Apéro Film and a lecturer and speaker on generative artificial intelligence.
Photo: Maurice Haas

Kevin Golde, User:Wikiolo

Kevin Golde is a transport engineer, geographer, and Wikimedian dedicated to the development of Wikipedia. In 2018, he founded the project Wiki Loves Broadcast. Due to the project, content from SRF, ARD, and ZDF is being implemented in Wikipedia. In 2023, Golde explained that Wikimedia must evolve rapidly to survive as a free encyclopedia for the public good in the age of profit-driven companies providing AI generated answers.
Photo by Amrei-Marie, “Wikiolo 01“, Bildschnitt von Wikimedia CH,CC-by-sa 4.0

Anna Jobin, President of the Swiss Federal Media Commission

Anna Jobin is a Senior Researcher and Lecturer at the University of Fribourg, President of the Swiss Federal Media Commission, and an internationally recognized expert on the social aspects of artificial intelligence and new media. After Cornell University, Tufts University, ETH Zurich, and the HIIG, she is now at the interdisciplinary Human-IST Institute, teaching also in the new Digital Society master programme. Her research focuses on algorithmic systems as sociotechnical institutions.
© Pierry-Yves Massot

Sid Singh, scientific researcher

Sid Singh is a scientific researcher at Berne University of Applied Sciences, where he works with applications of large language models with formal text documents (law, finance etc.). Over the years, he has worked with researchers and engineers ranging from human emotions in speech and predictive maintenance in drones to gaming and cyber security. He has a special interest in AI compliance and verification. He is also a board member and CTO at the IDE4 Association in Geneva, Switzerland.

Nadia Fischer, Founder Startup "Witty"

Nadia Fischer is an expert in Software Products. First as Head of Marketing in a San Francisco startup, she became the Lead Product at a renowned web agency. Thereafter she joined the leadership team at PwC as Head of Product Strategy. Missing diversity in large organizations, Nadia founded the tech startup ‘Witty’, an AI-augmented tool to identify bias in language that deters diverse talent.

Marketplace for networking

The Marketplace is a central element in the afternoon of Wikipedia Day. Engaged groups, active members and cooperation partners are invited to present themselves and their projects at a stand. The Wikimedia CH programmes offer insights into their work and are available to talk face to face.

A market stand is a simple conference table. It is up to the exhibitors how they design it and what they want to present. The participation is free of charge. If you are interested, please register by 30 March at the latest.

Programme

Location: Welle 7, Schanzenstrasse 5, Bern – directly at the West exit of Bern PostParc station.

Wikipedia & AI: The Race for Free Knowledge

09:30 – Check-in & Get together with coffee, tea, croissants   in the Foyer
10:00 – Opening the doors to the event room
10:15 – Welcome from Lisa Stähli, moderator
10:20 – Welcome & Greetings: Alec von Graffenried, Berner Stadtpräsident (Mayor of Berne)
10:30 – Introduction by Jennifer Ebermann, Executive Director and the Board of Wikimedia CH
10:40Keynote: Patrick Karpiczenko

11:00 Podium Discussion “Wikipedia & AI: The Race for Free Knowledge” with Patrick Karpiczenko, Anna Jobin, Kevin Golde, Nadia Fischer & Sid Singh
12:15 – Q&A and Summary
12:30 and 14:00 – vegan buffet

12:50 – General Assembly in Meeting room L+

(ca. 60 min) – Agenda / annual report 2023; all necessary information and documents are available on the memberswiki page (for members of Wikimedia CH only). For questions contact membership@wikimedia.ch)

12:30 – 16:00 – Marketplace for networking in the Event room

Project presentation and networking opportunity. Wikimedia CH presents its programme activities.

14:30 – 15:30 – Wiki Science Competition Awards in Meeting room L+

Award ceremony for the edition 2023

16:00 –  END

Registration

"*" indicates required fields

Which event do you wish to participate in?*
Translation required from English to :*
Translation required from German to :*
Do you need a childcare service during Wikipedia Day and/or General Assembly?*
Email copy
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Wikipedia Day et Assemblée générale

Wikipedia & IA : la course à la connaissance libre

Le 27 avril 2024, Wikimedia CH tiendra son assemblée générale à Welle7, Berne intégrée dans un événement titré Wikipedia Day. En plus des procédures habituelles de discussion et vote, vous vivrez une journée entière d’exposés stimulants, d’opportunités de réseautage, d’aperçus du programme de Wikimedia CH, de projets partenaires passionnants, et bien plus encore. Lisez l’annual report 2023 de Wikimedia CH et informez-vous sur nos activités en 2024 à travers notre  annual plan.

Bon à savoir

  • L’événement et l’AG sont ouverts et gratuits pour tout le monde. Il est recommandé de s’inscrire au plus tard le 20 avril. Veuillez nous informer si vous avez besoin d’une baby-sitter.
  • Lors de l’AG, seuls les membres actifs ont le droit de vote. Pour en savoir plus sur les droits et obligations de tous les membres, consultez nos statuts, §4. Tous les membres vont recevoir une invitation officielle. Vous souhaitez adhérer à l’association Wikimedia CH ? C’est facile!
  • La restauration et les boissons sont réservées aux personnes inscrites.
  • Nous serions très heureux et heureuses d’accueillir des bénévoles qui souhaitent donner un coup de main ! Prenez contact avec nous par email à events@wikimedia.ch.(MERCI D’AVANCE !)
  • Pendant la manifestation, des films et des photos seront prises. Pour ceux ou celles qui ne souhaitent pas être pris en photo, nous mettons à disposition des lanyards rouges. Les photographes et les filmeur.e.s engagé.e.s par Wikimedia CH en sont informé.e.s.
  • Les préparations pour le Wikipedia Day sont en cours. De plus amples informations vont suivre.

Nos intervenants et panélistes

Lisa Stähli, animatrice

Lisa Stähli est Product Engineering Lead au Esri R&D Center Zurich, membre de longue date du comité directeur en tant que Head of Press de l’organisation à but non lucratif Girls in Tech Switzerland, et l’initiatrice de Hello 50:50 World. Dans son rôle de Product Engineering Lead, elle travaille à l’interface de la technologie, du design de produit et du leadership. Passionnée par l’activisme, elle s’engage pour les thèmes liés à la diversité et à l’inclusion dans le secteur de la technologie et au-delà.

Alec von Graffenried, maire de la Ville de Berne

Depuis 2017, Alec von Graffenried est maire de la ville de Berne. Auparavant, il a été avocat, préfet de l’arrondissement de Berne, puis a siégé au Conseil national et a travaillé comme directeur de l’entreprise de construction Losinger Marazzi AG. En tant que maire, il s’engage entre autres pour l’urbanisme, la culture, la coopération régionale et pour l’accélération de la numérisation de l’administration municipale. Alec von Graffenried trouve que Wikipedia est le meilleur sur Internet.

Patrick Karpiczenko, humoriste et expert de AI generative

Patrick Karpiczenko est né à Berne et a étudié à l’école de cinéma ZHdK de Zurich. Il travaille comme scénariste, réalisateur et humoriste pour le cinéma, la télévision et la scène, et il est chroniqueur dans la presse écrite (Tagesanzeiger, NZZ, Beobachter). Il est le créateur et le showrunner de divers formats télévisés et se produit sur scène en tant qu’humoriste. Il est le fondateur de la société de production Apéro Film et donne des conférences sur l’intelligence artificielle générative.

Kevin Golde, User:Wikiolo

Kevin Golde est ingénieur des transports, géographe et wikimédien dédié au développement de Wikipédia. En 2018, il a fondé le projet Wiki Loves Broadcast. Grâce à ce projet, des contenus de SRF, ARD et ZDF sont implémentés dans Wikipédia. En 2023, Golde a expliqué que Wikimedia devait évoluer rapidement pour survivre en tant qu’encyclopédie libre pour le bien public à l’ère des entreprises motivées par le profit qui fournissent des réponses générées par l’IA.
Photo by Amrei-Marie, « Wikiolo 01“, Bildschnitt von Wikimedia CH,CC-by-sa 4.0

Anna Jobin, présidente de la Commission fédérale des médias

Anna Jobin est chercheuse et maître assistante à l’Université de Fribourg, présidente de la Commission fédérale des médias et experte des aspects sociaux de l’intelligence artificielle et des nouveaux médias. Après Cornell, Tufts, l’EPFZ et le HIIG, elle est aujourd’hui à l’Institut interdisciplinaire Human-IST, où elle enseigne dans le cadre du nouveau programme de master Digital Society. Ses recherches portent sur les systèmes algorithmiques en tant qu’institutions sociotechniques.
© Pierry-Yves Massot

Sid Singh, chercheur scientifique

Sid Singh est chercheur scientifique à la Haute école spécialisée bernoise, où il travaille sur les applications des grands modèles de langage avec des documents textuels formels (droit, finance, etc.). Au fil des ans, il a collaboré avec des chercheurs et des ingénieurs dans des domaines aussi variés que les émotions humaines dans la parole, la maintenance prédictive dans les drones, les jeux et la cybersécurité. Il s’intéresse tout particulièrement à la conformité et à la vérification de l’IA. Il est également membre du conseil d’administration et directeur technique de l’association IDE4 à Genève, en Suisse.

Nadia Fischer, fondatrice de la startup "Witty"

Nadia Fischer est une experte en produits logiciels. Elle a d’abord travaillé comme Head of Marketing dans une start-up à San Francisco, puis elle est devenue Lead Product dans une agence web renommée. Elle a ensuite rejoint l’équipe de direction de PwC en tant que Head of Product Strategy. Comme la diversité lui manquait dans les grandes entreprises, elle a fondé la startup tech ‘Witty’, un outil basé sur l’IA qui détecte les préjugés dans le langage qui décourage les talents diversifiés.

Marketplace pour le réseautage

Le « Marketplace » est un élément central pendant l’après-midi de cette Wikipedia Day. Des groupes impliqués, des membres actifs et des coopérateurs et coopératrices sont invité.e.s à se présenter et à présenter leurs projets sur un stand. Les programmes Wikimedia CH offrent un aperçu de leur travail et sont disponibles pour des discussions en face à face.
Un « stand de marché » est une simple table de conférence. Les exposant.e.s sont libres de l’aménager comme ils ou elles l’entendent et d’y présenter ce qu’ils ou elles souhaitent. La participation est gratuite. Si vous êtes intéressé.e, veuillez vous inscrire à l’adresse  events@wikimedia.ch jusqu’au 30 mars 2024 au plus tard.

Programme

Lieu : Welle7, Schanzenstrasse 5, Berne – directement à la sortie ouest de la gare Bern PostParc.

Wikipedia & IA : La Course à la Connaissance Libre 

09:30 – Check-in , café/thé et croissants au foyer

10:00 – Ouverture des portes
10:15 – Introduction: Lisa Stähli, modératrice
10:20 – Bienvenu(e)s: Alec von Graffenried, Maire de Berne
10:30 – Introduction par Jennifer Ebermann, Directrice Exécutive et par le le Comité de Wikimedia CH
10:40 – Discours: Patrick Karpiczenko
11:00 – Discussion Podium « Wikipedia & IA: La Course à la Connaissance Libre » avec Patrick Karpiczenko, Anna Jobin, Kevin Golde, Nadia Fischer & Sid Singh
12:15 – Questions & Réponses et Résumé
12:30 et 14:00 – Buffet végane

12:50 –Assemblée Générale Salle L+

(ca. 60 min) – Assemblée Générale  (Agenda / annual report 2023). Les informations et documents nécessaires sont disponibles sur la page memberswiki (accès réservé aux membres de Wikimedia CH). À contacter en cas de questions: membership@wikimedia.ch

12:30 – 16.00 – Place du marché pour Réseautage, Salle de l’évènement

Présentation de projets et opportunités de réseautage. Wikimedia CH présente ses programmes.

14:30 – 15:30 – Wiki Science Competition Salle L+

Remise de prix pour l’édition 2023

16:00 –  FIN

Registration

« * » indique les champs nécessaires

A quel événement souhaitez-vous participer ?*
Traduction souhaitée de l'anglais vers :*
Traduction souhaitée de l'allemand vers :*
Avez-vous besoin d'un service de garde d'enfants pendant le Wikipedia Day et/ou l'Assemblée Générale ?*
Email copy
Ce champ n’est utilisé qu’à des fins de validation et devrait rester inchangé.