GLAM

Sharing cultural heritage

The acronym GLAM stands for “Galleries, Libraries, Archives and Museums”. Our mission is to help Swiss memory institutions share their curatorial knowledge, collections and resources in a digital manner, on global platforms, making Swiss cultural heritage more accessible to the world.

Our overarching GLAM principle

Cultural activity also stands for culture in interaction between people. We believe that knowledge about cultural heritage and the free access to it is one of the central pillars of a democratic society. We see Wikimedia CH as an interface between GLAM institutions and the Wikiverse.

GLAM events and programmes

GLAM-on-Tour

GLAM-on-Tour is a multi-day event format originally from Germany. It promotes networking between Wikipedia contributors and GLAM institutions and ensures new content on Wikipedia. The event includes guided tours, lectures, photo excursions, and collaborative editing. Wikimedia CH provides funding for travel and accommodation expenses.

Watch the video GLAM-on-Tour at Kirchner Museum Davos here on Wikimedia Commons.

International Museums Day

To foster the International Museum Day (IMD) from the International Council of Museums (ICOM) in May, Wikimedia CH joins forces with other Wikimedia chapters and groups worldwide to launch calls for content on Wikipedia and invite participants to Wikidata competitions.

International Archive Week

Wikimedia CH partners with the Association of Swiss Archivists (VSA-AAS) to promote the International Archives Week in June. Joining forces with Wikimedia Austria and Germany, we launch calls for content.

GLAM digital

GLAM digital is a series of video conferences presenting different cultural and memory institutions. It is collectively coordinated and supported by Wikimedia Germany, Wikimedia Austria and Wikimedia CH.

Kulturbotschafter

Wikipedia Kulturbotschafter are professionally trained volunteer contact persons for questions about Wikipedia, digital cultural heritage and community-based cooperation with institutions.

Wikimedia CH tools for GLAMs

Cassandra Statistical Tool

The GLAM Statistical Tool (Cassandra) was created by Wikimedia CH and developed in collaboration with GLAM partners. It helps gain statistical insights regarding their shared collections across the Wikimedia projects.

WMCH Map Service

The WMCH Map Service provides interactive maps of cultural institutions and content in Switzerland. Users can explore locations, check article coverage and contribute to encyclopaedic content.

Get in touch with our GLAM Team!

Sandra Becker

GLAM Lead
User:Medea7

Amandine Cabrio

GLAM Expert
User:Amandine_WMCH

Our GLAM Partners

G

G stands for Galleries. We are open to new partners in this field. Contact us to learn more.

L

L stands for Libraries. Among our partners: Swiss National Library, ETH Library Zurich, EPFL Lausanne, Stadtbibliothek Schaffhausen, and many more.

A

A stands for Archives.
Among our partners: Swiss Federal Archives, Swiss Social Archives, SBB Historic, Archives Cantonales Vaudoises, and many more.

M

M stands for Museums.
Among our partners: MAMCO Geneva, Historic Museum Basel, Tinguely Museum Basel, and many more.

GLAM

Partager un patrimoine culturel

L’acronyme GLAM, qui vient de l’anglais, signifie « Galleries, Libraries, Archives and Museums » (galeries, bibliothèques, archives et musées). Notre mission est d’aider les institutions culturelles suisses à partager leurs connaissances, leurs collections et leurs ressources sous format numérique, sur des plateformes mondiales, afin de rendre le patrimoine culturel suisse plus accessible au monde entier.

Notre principe primordial GLAM

L’activité culturelle est aussi synonyme de culture. Pour Wikimedia CH, la connaissance de notre histoire et l’accès libre aux connaissances est, en complément de la formation, l’un des pilliers d’une société démocratique. Nous nous considérons comme une interface entre les institutions GLAM et le Wikiverse.

Événements et programmes GLAM

GLAM-on-Tour

GLAM-on-Tour est un format d’événement étalé sur plusieurs jours originaire d’Allemagne. En favorisant le réseautage entre les contributrices et contributeurs de Wikipédia et les institutions du GLAM, ce type de rencontre contribue à de nouveaux contenus sur Wikipédia. Le programme comprend des visites guidées, des conférences, des excursions avec prise de photographies, et bien sûr des sessions d’édition collaborative. Wikimedia CH finance les frais de voyage et d’hébergement.

Regardez la video GLAM-on Tour au Kirchner Museum Davos sur Wikimedia Commons.

Journée internationale des musées

Pour encourager la Journée internationale des musées (JIM) du Conseil international des Musées (ICOM) en mai, Wikimedia CH s’associe à de nombreux autres chapters (filiales) et groupes Wikimedia partout dans le monde. Ensemble, nous lançons des appels à fournir du contenu sur Wikipédia et nous invitons à des compétitions Wikidata.

Semaine internationale des archives

Wikimedia CH établit un partenariat régulier avec l’Association des archivistes suisses (VSA-AAS) pour promouvoir la Semaine internationale des archives, qui se tient chaque année en juin. En ce sens, nous nous associons à Wikimedia Autriche et Allemagne pour lancer des appels à contenu.

GLAM digital

GLAM digital est une série d’événements sous la forme de vidéoconférences présentant des institutions culturelles et memorielles. Elle est coordonnée en commun et soutenue par Wikimedia  Allemagne, Wikimedia Autriche et Wikimedia CH.

Ambassadrice et Ambassadeur de la Culture

Les ambassadrices et ambassadeurs de la culture sur Wikipédia sont des personnes de contact bénévoles, formées et compétentes, répondant à toutes questions concernant Wikipédia, le patrimoine culturel numérique et les formats de coopération communautaires avec les institutions.

Outils de Wikimedia CH pour les GLAM

Outil statistique Cassandra

Créé par Wikimedia CH, l’outil statistique GLAM (Cassandra) est développé en coopération avec des partenaires GLAM. Il permet d’obtenir des données statistiques sur les collections partagées entre les différents projets Wikimedia.

Service de carte WMCH

Service de carte WMCH propose des articles de Wikipédia en lien avec la cartographie. Cet outil permet d’accéder à des cartes, d’explorer des lieux, de mettre à jour les données des articles et de contribuer au contenu encyclopédique. Ce service complète ainsi le paysage culturel suisse dans Wikipédia.

Prenez contact avec notre équipe GLAM !

Sandra Becker

GLAM Lead
Utilisatrice : Medea7

Amandine Cabrio

GLAM Expert
Utilisatrice : Amandine_WMCH

Nos partenaires GLAM

G

G (« Galleries ») désigne les galeries. Nous sommes ouverts à de nouveaux partenaires dans ce domaine. N’hésitez pas à nous contacter.

L

L (« Libraries ») désigne les bibliothèques. Parmi nos partenaires figurent la Swiss National Library (Bibliothèque nationale de Suisse), l’ETH Library Zurich (Bibliothèque de l'École polytechnique fédérale de Zurich), l’EPFL (École polytechnique fédérale) de Lausanne, la Stadtbibliothek Schaffhausen (Bibliothèque municipale de Schaffouse), et bien d’autres encore.

A

A (« Archives ») désigne les archives. Parmi nos partenaires figurent les Swiss Federal Archives (Archives fédérales suisses), la SBB Historic (Fondation pour le patrimoine historique des CFF), les Archives cantonales vaudoises, et bien d’autres encore.

M

M (« Museums ») désigne les musées. Parmi nos partenaires figurent le MAMCO (Musée d’Art moderne et contemporain) de Genève, l’Historic Museum Basel (Musée historique de Bâle), et bien d’autres encore.