Wikipedia Day with General Assembly

Wikipedia & AI: The race for free knowledge

On 27 April 2024, Wikimedia CH will embed its General Assembly (GA) in a Wikipedia Day in Welle 7, Bern. Our guests will experience a day of  talks, networking opportunities, insights to Wikimedia CH’s programme, exciting partner projects, and much more.

Please read Wikimedia CH’s annual report 2023 and get informed about our activities in 2024 by our annual plan. It is aligned with the Movement strategy as well as with our 2022-2026 strategy. You are invited to comment on the discussion page.

Good to know

  • The event and the GA are open and free for everybody. Registration is recommended by April 20 at the latest.
    Please let us know if you need a baby sitter.
  • In the GA, only active members have the right to vote. Read more about all members rights and obligations in our Bylaws, §4.
    All members will get an official invitation. You want to become a member? Here we go!
  • Food and drinks will be provided for registered people only.
  • Helping hands wanted! All voluntrees who want to give active support in this event, please contact us via events@wikimedia.ch
    (THANK YOU IN ADVANCE!)
  • The event will be filmed and photographed. We will provide red lanyards for anyone who does not wish to be photographed. The photographers and filmers engaged by Wikimedia CH have been informed of this.
  • Further information will follow here as soon as possible.

Our speakers and panelists

Lisa Stähli, Moderator

Lisa Stähli is a Product Engineering Lead at the Esri R&D Center Zurich, Board Member and Head of Press at Girls in Tech Switzerland and creator of the Hello 50:50 World initiative. In her role as a Product Engineer Lead, she operates at the intersection of engineering, product design, and leadership. She is a passionate activist and community builder around the topics of diversity and inclusion in the tech industry and beyond.

Alec von Graffenried, Mayor of the City of Bern

Alec von Graffenried has been Mayor of Bern since 2017. He was previously a lawyer and governor of the administrative district of Bern, before becoming a member of the National Council and working as a director at construction company Losinger Marazzi AG. As mayor, he is committed to urban planning, culture, regional cooperation and the accelerated digitalisation of the city administration, among other things. He thinks Wikipedia is the best thing on the Internet.
Photo: Stadt Bern

Patrick Karpiczenko, comedian and expert for generative AI

Patrick Karpiczenko was born in Berne and educated at the ZHdK Film School in Zurich. He works as a writer, director, and comedian for film, television, and the stage, and is a columnist for print media (Tagesanzeiger, NZZ, Beobachter). He is the creator and showrunner of various television formats and performes stand-up comedy on stage. He is the founder of the production company Apéro Film and a lecturer and speaker on generative artificial intelligence.
Photo: Maurice Haas

Kevin Golde, User:Wikiolo

Kevin Golde is a transport engineer, geographer, and Wikimedian dedicated to the development of Wikipedia. In 2018, he founded the project Wiki Loves Broadcast. Due to the project, content from SRF, ARD, and ZDF is being implemented in Wikipedia. In 2023, Golde explained that Wikimedia must evolve rapidly to survive as a free encyclopedia for the public good in the age of profit-driven companies providing AI generated answers.
Photo by Amrei-Marie, “Wikiolo 01“, Bildschnitt von Wikimedia CH,CC-by-sa 4.0

Anna Jobin, President of the Swiss Federal Media Commission

Anna Jobin is a Senior Researcher and Lecturer at the University of Fribourg, President of the Swiss Federal Media Commission, and an internationally recognized expert on the social aspects of artificial intelligence and new media. After Cornell University, Tufts University, ETH Zurich, and the HIIG, she is now at the interdisciplinary Human-IST Institute, teaching also in the new Digital Society master programme. Her research focuses on algorithmic systems as sociotechnical institutions.
© Pierry-Yves Massot

Sid Singh, scientific researcher

Sid Singh is a scientific researcher at Berne University of Applied Sciences, where he works with applications of large language models with formal text documents (law, finance etc.). Over the years, he has worked with researchers and engineers ranging from human emotions in speech and predictive maintenance in drones to gaming and cyber security. He has a special interest in AI compliance and verification. He is also a board member and CTO at the IDE4 Association in Geneva, Switzerland.

Nadia Fischer, Founder Startup "Witty"

Nadia Fischer is an expert in Software Products. First as Head of Marketing in a San Francisco startup, she became the Lead Product at a renowned web agency. Thereafter she joined the leadership team at PwC as Head of Product Strategy. Missing diversity in large organizations, Nadia founded the tech startup ‘Witty’, an AI-augmented tool to identify bias in language that deters diverse talent.

Marketplace for networking

The Marketplace is a central element in the afternoon of Wikipedia Day. Engaged groups, active members and cooperation partners are invited to present themselves and their projects at a stand. The Wikimedia CH programmes offer insights into their work and are available to talk face to face.

A market stand is a simple conference table. It is up to the exhibitors how they design it and what they want to present. The participation is free of charge. If you are interested, please register by 30 March at the latest.

Programme

Location: Welle 7, Schanzenstrasse 5, Bern – directly at the West exit of Bern PostParc station.

Wikipedia & AI: The Race for Free Knowledge

09:30 – Check-in & Get together with coffee, tea, croissants   in the Foyer
10:00 – Opening the doors to the event room
10:15 – Welcome from Lisa Stähli, moderator
10:20 – Welcome & Greetings: Alec von Graffenried, Berner Stadtpräsident (Mayor of Berne)
10:30 – Introduction by Jennifer Ebermann, Executive Director and the Board of Wikimedia CH
10:40Keynote: Patrick Karpiczenko

11:00 Podium Discussion “Wikipedia & AI: The Race for Free Knowledge” with Patrick Karpiczenko, Anna Jobin, Kevin Golde, Nadia Fischer & Sid Singh
12:15 – Q&A and Summary
12:30 and 14:00 – vegan buffet

12:50 – General Assembly in Meeting room L+

(ca. 60 min) – Agenda / annual report 2023; all necessary information and documents are available on the memberswiki page (for members of Wikimedia CH only). For questions contact membership@wikimedia.ch)

12:30 – 16:00 – Marketplace for networking in the Event room

Project presentation and networking opportunity. Wikimedia CH presents its programme activities.

14:30 – 15:30 – Wiki Science Competition Awards in Meeting room L+

Award ceremony for the edition 2023

16:00 –  END

Registration

"*" indicates required fields

Which event do you wish to participate in?*
Translation required from English to :*
Translation required from German to :*
Do you need a childcare service during Wikipedia Day and/or General Assembly?*
Email copy
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Wikipedia Day / Generalversammlung

Wikipedia & KI: Wettlauf um freies Wissen

Am 27. April 2024 lädt Wikimedia CH zur Generalversammlung in Welle7, Bern ein und verbindet dieses Ereignis mit einem Wikipedia Day. Bereiten Sie sich auf einen ganzen Tag voller Impulsvorträge zum Thema „Wikipedia & AI: Wettlauf um freies Wissen“, Networking-Möglichkeiten, Einblicke in die Programme von Wikimedia CH, spannende Partnerprojekte und vieles mehr vor. Lesen Sie den Annual report 2023 von Wikimedia CH und informieren Sie sich über unsere künftigen Aktivitäten in unserem Annual Plan 2024.

Gut zu wissen

  • Die Veranstaltung und die Generalversammlung sind offen und kostenlos für alle. Anmeldung wird empfohlen mit dem Formular am Seitenende bis spätestens 20. April.
  • Bei der Generalversammlung sind nur aktive Mitglieder stimmberechtigt. Lesen Sie mehr über die Rechte und Pflichten aller Mitglieder in unseren Statuten, §4. Alle Mitglieder erhalten eine offizielle Einladung.
    Sie möchten Mitglied werden? So geht’s!
  • Speisen und Getränke gibt es nur für angemeldete Personen.
  • Helfende Hände gesucht! Alle, die uns bei dieser Veranstaltung tatkräftig unterstützen möchten, melden sich bitte unter events@wikimedia.ch. (VIELEN DANK IM VORAUS!)
  • Während der Veranstaltung wird gefilmt und fotografiert. Für alle, die nicht abgebildet werden möchten, stellen wir rote Lanyards zur Verfügung. Die von Wikimedia CH engagierten Fotograf*innen und Filmer*innen sind darüber informiert.
  • Weitere Informationen folgen sobald wie möglich.

Unsere Sprecher und Panelisten

Lisa Stähli, Moderatorin

Lisa Stähli ist Product Engineering Lead beim Esri R&D Center Zurich, langjähriges Vorstandsmitglied als Head of Press bei der Non-Profit Organisation Girls in Tech Switzerland, und die Initiantin von Hello 50:50 World. In ihrer Rolle als Product Engineering Lead arbeitet sie an der Schnittstelle von Technologie, Produkt Design und Leadership. Sie ist eine leidenschaftliche Aktivisten und setzt sich für Themen rund um Diversität und Inklusion in der Techbranche und darüber hinaus ein.

Alec von Graffenried, Berner Stadtpräsident

Alec von Graffenried ist seit 2017 Stadtpräsident von Bern. Zuvor war er Rechtsanwalt, Regierungsstatthalter des Amtsbezirk Bern, anschliessend sass er im Nationalrat und arbeitete als Direktor beim Bauunternehmen Losinger Marazzi AG. Als Stadtpräsident engagiert er sich unter anderem für die Stadtplanung, Kultur, die regionale Zusammenarbeit und für die beschleunigte Digitalisierung der Stadtverwaltung. Alec von Graffenried findet Wikipedia das Beste im Internet.

Patrick Karpiczenko, Komiker und Experte für generative KI

Patrick Karpiczenko arbeitet als Autor, Komiker und Regisseur für Film, Fernsehen und die Bühne. Er schreibt Kolumnen für Printmedien (Tagesanzeiger, NZZ, Beobachter) und ist Erfinder und Showrunner diverser Fernsehformate, u.a der Late-Night Show „Deville“ für SRF.  Er betreibt zusammen mit Natascha Beller die Produktionsfirma Apéro Film, und ist zudem Speaker und Dozent für Künstliche Intelligenz.

Kevin Golde, User:Wikiolo

Kevin Golde, Verkehrsingenieur, Geograph und Wikimedianer, engagiert sich an der Weiterentwicklung der Wikipedia. Er gründete 2018 das Projekt Wiki Loves Broadcast als Schnittstelle der Wikimedia-Community und dem ÖRR, sodass Inhalte von SRF, ARD und ZDF in der Wikipedia zu finden sind. 2023 stellte Golde in einem Vortrag dar, wieso sich die Wikimedia rasch fortentwickeln muss, um in Zeiten von KI als freie, gemeinwohlorientierte Quelle gegenüber profitorientierten Unternehmen bestehen zu können.

Anna Jobin, Präsidentin der Eidgenössischen Medienkommission

Anna Jobin ist Oberassistentin und Dozentin an der Universität Freiburg (FR), Präsidentin der Eidgenössischen Medienkommission und eine international anerkannte Expertin für die sozialen Aspekte von KI und neuen Medien. Nach der Cornell University, der Tufts University, der ETH und dem HIIG ist sie nun am interdisziplinären Human-IST Institute tätig und unterrichtet dort auch im neuen Masterprogramm Digital Society. Ihre Forschung behandelt algorithmische Systeme als soziotechnische Institutionen.
© Pierry-Yves Massot

Sid Singh, scientific researcher

Sid Singh ist wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter an der Berner Fachhochschule, wo er sich mit Anwendungen grosser Sprachmodelle für formale Textdokumente (Recht, Finanzen usw.) beschäftigt. Im Laufe der Jahre hat er mit Forschern und Ingenieuren zusammengearbeitet, die sich mit menschlichen Emotionen in der Sprache, prädiktiver Wartung von Drohnen, Spielen und Cybersicherheit beschäftigen. Sein besonderes Interesse gilt der Einhaltung und Überprüfung von KI. Er ist außerdem Vorstandsmitglied und CTO der IDE4 Association in Genf, Schweiz.

Nadia Fischer, Founder Startup "Witty"

Nadia Fischer ist eine Expertin für Softwareprodukte. Zuerst war sie als Head of Marketing in einem Startup in San Francisco tätig, dann wurde sie Lead Product bei einer renommierten Webagentur. Danach trat sie dem Führungsteam von PwC als Head of Product Strategy bei. Da sie Diversität in Grossunternehmen vermisste, gründete sie das Tech-Startup ‚Witty‘, ein KI-gestütztes Tool zur Erkennung von Vorurteilen in der Sprache, die vielfältige Talente abschreckt.

Marketplace zum Networken

Der Marketplace ist ein zentrales Element am Nachmittag des Wikipedia-Day. Interessengruppen, aktive Mitglieder und Kooperationspartner sind eingeladen, sich und ihre Projekte an einen Stand zu präsentieren. Die Wikimedia CH-Programme bieten dem Publikum Einblick in ihre jeweilige Arbeit und stehen zum direkten Gespräch zur Verfügung.

Ein Markstand besteht aus einem einfachen Tagungstisch. Wie die Teilnehmer diesen gestaltet und was sie dort vorstellen möchten, ist ihnen überlassen. Die Teilnahme ist kostenlos. Anmeldung unter events@wikimedia.ch; Anmeldeschluss ist der 30. März.

Programm

Veranstaltungsort: Welle7, Schanzenstrasse 5, Bern – direkt beim Ausgang West im Bahnhof Bern PostParc.

Wikipedia & KI: Der Wettlauf um Freies Wissen“ 

09:30 – Check-in, get together bei Kaffee, Tee und Croissants im Foyer

10:00 – Türöffnung

10:15 – Einführung: Lisa Stähli, Moderatorin

10:20 – Willkommen: Alec von Graffenried, Berner Stadtpräsident

10:30 – Einführung durch Geschäftsführerin Jennifer Ebermann und den Wikimedia CH Vorstand

10:40 – Keynote: Patrick Karpiczenko

11:00 – Podiumsdiskussion „Wikipedia & KI: Der Wettlauf um freies Wissen“ mit Patrick Karpiczenko, Anna Jobin, Kevin Golde, Nadia Fischer & Sid Singh

12:15 – Fragen & Antworten und Zusammenfassung

12:30 und 14:00 – veganes Buffet

12:50 – Generalversammlung im Raum L+

Ca. 60 min. – Agenda / Annual report 2023. Alle weiteren Informationen und Dokumente sind auf der Seite memberswiki zu finden (Zugang nur für Mitglieder von Wikimedia CH). Bei Fragen wenden Sie sich bitte an membership@wikimedia.ch.)

12:30 – 16:00 – Marketplace zum Netzwerken, Event Raum

Präsentation der Projekte und Möglichkeit zum Netzwerken. Wikimedia CH präsentiert seine Programme.

14:30 – 15:30 – Wiki Science Competition Awards, Raum L+

Preisverleihung,  Ausgabe 2023.

16:00 –  ENDE

Registration

*“ zeigt erforderliche Felder an

An welchem Event möchten Sie teilnehmen?*
Übersetzung erwünscht von Englisch nach:*
Übersetzung erwünscht von Deutsch nach:*
Brauchen Sie einen Kinderbetreuungsservice während dem Wikipedia Day und/oder der Generalversammlung?*
Email copy
Dieses Feld dient zur Validierung und sollte nicht verändert werden.