More Women for Wikipedia

Wikimedia CH's initiative More Women for Wikipedia

Wikimedia CH has started this initiative on 8 March 2024. We want to contribute to the global efforts to bring more women into Wikipedia and to close the gender gap. For this objective, we invite organisations, groups and institutions to partner with us. Together we want to gather sustainable funding for future Wiki-projects. We are happy to welcome our first partner the Zonta Club Lausanne.

The current situation you can help to change

Wikipedia is one of the world’s most popular websites – but it is failing to accurately reflect our society and history: Women are missing from Wikipedia pages, both as subjects and editors: Less than 20% of the biographies on Wikipedia are those of women. Less than 10% of the contributing editors are women.

Flyer to download and share

To whom we adress to

This initiative focusses on organisations, associations, foundations, think tanks, and committed groups who stand for objectives like empowering women and girls, standing for gender equity, giving more visibility to women, supporting women in education or in the tech field, seeking for attractive talks and topics, seeking for attractive activities for their members (f.e. Wikipedia workshops), or seeking for a modern way to fulfil their objectives.

Why Wikimedia CH is doing that

Wikimedia CH supports each year a lot of  projects in Switzerland which contribute to close the gender gap. We intend to play a more active part in this task and therefore, we want to shift this engagement on a more structured level in creating a focus “More Women for Wikipedia”as a part of the Community programme.

The objectives which are aligned with WMCH’s mission: promote and sensibilise for this issue, make more women visible on Wiki platforms, encourage people to start new projects, motivate more women for editing, ensure an efficient infrastructure for the work on this field, create a network for different groups in Switzerland, and use the result for outreach and fundraising objectives.

Advantage for local groups funded by Wikimedia CH

Local groups have one central funding source for their Wikipedia activities with equal guidelines for all of them. They don’t need to waste time on fundraising and have more capacity to concentrate on content creation.  Wikimedia CH works as a national hub for exchange of knowledge and experience. This initiative is a contribution to strengthen the national identity and help to create multilingual content.

Five good reasons to become a partner

1

Partners help to reduce gender stereotypes, to foster inclusion of important information and to increase representation of women in all areas of the society.

2

An engagement in this way is a commitment that partners want to take over responsibility for equity in the digitalisation of our society.

3

An engagement in this way is a proof that partners are connected to the digital development and follow a modern approach to support women’s standing in the world.

4

This engagement allows the donor’s/partner’s organisation an interesting story telling about a different approach to reach their own objectives.

5

Partner organisations can benefit to invite their members to Wiki-workshops or invite Wiki-Editors to give a speech about their articles about an interesting topic or person.

Five reasons for funding Wikimedia CH

1

Wikimedia CH is part of a global Movement and has a huge national and international network. As association we help to create global visibility of Swiss content.

2

Wikimedia CH has already an existing network of contributors, a clear grant strategy to provide donated money to local players, has experience in project financing and is a reliable partner.

3

Wikipedia is among the top ten websites of the world and the only non commercial. To keep Wikipedia and its sister platforms independent, Wikimedia CH is funded by donations only. You contribute directly to close the gender gap.

4

Wikipedia and its sister platforms have a major impact on the development of Artificial Intelligence by providing a vast amount of training data for machine learning algorithms. With this initiative you help Wikimedia CH to fight for fair outcomes to reduce discrimination.

5

Wikimedia CH is political neural and independent. With your partnership you stand with us for diversity and unbiased free knowledge.

Our partners

Watch our video "Mind the gab"

Join us! Contact us!

Kerstin Sonnekalb

Outreach & Communication

Mehr Frauen für Wikipedia

Wikimedia CHs Förderinitiative "Mehr Frauen für Wikipedia"

Wikimedia CH hat diese Initiative am 8. März 2024 gestartet. Wir wollen damit einen Beitrag zu den weltweiten Bemühungen leisten, mehr Frauen in die Wikipedia zu bringen und die Kluft zwischen den Geschlechtern zu schliessen. Für dieses Ziel laden wir Organisationen, Gruppen und Institutionen ein, mit uns zusammenzuarbeiten. Mit vereinten Käften wollen wir eine nachhaltige Finanzierung für zukünftige Wiki-Projekte aufbauen. Als ersten Partner begrüssen wir den Zonta Club Lausanne.

Die aktuelle Situation, die Sie mitverändern können

Wikipedia ist eine der beliebtesten Websites der Welt – aber sie spiegelt unsere Gesellschaft und Geschichte nicht korrekt wider: Frauen fehlen auf den Wikipedia-Seiten, sowohl als Themen als auch als Redakteure: Weniger als 20 % der Biografien auf Wikipedia sind von Frauen. Weniger als 10 % der Beitragenden sind Frauen.

Wen wir mit dieser Initiative ansprechen möchten

Diese Initiative richtet sich an Organisationen, Vereine, Stiftungen, Think Tanks und engagierte Gruppen, die für Ziele wie die Stärkung von Frauen und Mädchen, die Gleichstellung der Geschlechter, mehr Sichtbarkeit für Frauen, die Unterstützung von Frauen in der Bildung oder im technischen Bereich, attraktive Vorträge und Themen, neuartige Aktivitäten für ihre Mitglieder (z.B. Wikipedia-Workshops) oder einen modernen Weg zur Erfüllung ihrer Ziele suchen.

Warum Wikimedia CH sich hier engagiert

Wikimedia CH unterstützt jedes Jahr eine Vielzahl von Projekten in der Schweiz, die dazu beitragen, die Kluft zwischen den Geschlechtern zu schliessen. Wir wollen uns aktiver für diese Anliegen einsetzen und dehnen daher unser Engagement auf eine neue strukturiertere Ebene aus, indem wir den neuen Fokus „Mehr Frauen für Wikipedia“ ins Community-Programm integrieren.

Die Ziele, die mit dem Auftrag von WMCH übereinstimmen, sind: für dieses Thema zu sensibilisieren, mehr Menschen zu ermutigen, neue Projekte zu starten, mehr Frauen zum Editieren zu motivieren, eine effiziente Infrastruktur für die Arbeit in diesem Bereich zu gewährleisten, ein Netzwerk für verschiedene Gruppen in der Schweiz zu schaffen und das Ergebnis für Outreach- und Fundraising-Ziele zu nutzen.

Vorteile für von Wikimedia CH finanzierte Gruppen

Engagierte Gruppen und Personen haben in Wikimedia CH eine zentrale Finanzierungsquelle für ihre Wikipedia-Aktivitäten. Die Förderrichtlinien sind für alle gleich. Sie müssen also keine Zeit ins eigenem Fundraising investieren und haben somit mehr Kapazitäten, sich auf das Erstellen von Inhalten zu konzentrieren. Wikimedia CH dient zudem als nationale Drehscheibe für den Austausch von Wissen und Erfahrungen. Diese Initiative ist ein Beitrag zur Stärkung der nationalen Identität und zur Schaffung mehrsprachiger Inhalte.

Fünf gute Gründe, Partner zu werden

1

Die Partner tragen dazu bei, geschlechtsspezifische Stereotypen abzubauen, die Einbeziehung relevanter Informationen zu fördern und die Vertretung von Frauen in allen Bereichen der Gesellschaft zu verbessern.

2

Ein solches Engagement ist ein Bekenntnis, dass die Partner Verantwortung für mehr Gerechtigkeit zwischen den Geschlechtern in der Digitalisierung unserer Gesellschaft übernehmen wollen.

3

Ein Engagement dieser Art ist ein Beweis dafür, dass die Partner mit der digitalen Entwicklung Schritt halten und einen modernen Ansatz verfolgen, um die Stellung der Frauen in der Welt zu stärken.

4

Dieses Engagement ermöglicht es der Partnerorganisation, eine interessante Geschichte über einen anderen Ansatz zur Erreichung ihrer eigenen Ziele zu erzählen.

5

Partnerorganisationen profitieren, denn sie können ihre Mitglieder zu Wiki-Workshops einladen oder ihr gesellschaftliches Leben durch Vorträge von Wiki-Beitragenden zu ihren Artikeln über interessante Themen oder Personen bereichern.

Fünf Gründe für die Unterstützung von Wikimedia CH

1

Wikimedia CH ist Teil einer globalen Bewegung und verfügt über ein grosses nationales und internationales Netzwerk. Als Verein helfen wir mit, Schweizer Inhalte weltweit sichtbar zu machen.

2

Wikimedia CH verfügt bereits über ein bestehendes Netzwerk von Beitragenden, eine klare Förderstrategie zur Bereitstellung von Spendengeldern an lokale Engagierte, hat Erfahrung in der Projektfinanzierung und ist ein zuverlässiger Partner.

3

Wikipedia gehört zu den zehn wichtigsten Internetportalen der Welt und ist darunter die einzige nicht kommerzielle Website. Um Wikipedia und seine Schwesterplattformen unabhängig zu halten, finanziert sich Wikimedia CH ausschliesslich durch Spenden. Sie tragen direkt dazu bei, die Geschlechterkluft zu schliessen.

4

Wikipedia und seine Schwesterplattformen haben einen grossen Einfluss auf die Entwicklung von künstlicher Intelligenz, indem sie eine riesige Menge an Trainingsdaten für Algorithmen bereitstellen. Mit dieser Initiative helfen Sie Wikimedia CH, für faire Ergebnisse zu kämpfen und Diskriminierung abzubauen.

5

Wikimedia CH ist politisch neutral und unabhängig. Mit Ihrer Partnerschaft stehen Sie mit uns für Vielfalt und unvoreingenommenes, freies Wissen ein.

Unsere Partner

Möchten Sie mitmachen? Kontaktieren Sie uns!

Kerstin Sonnekalb

Outreach & Communication