GLAM

Digitalizing Swiss cultural heritage

The acronym GLAM comes from English languages and stands for “Galleries, Libraries, Archives and Museums”.

The mission of Wikimedia CH is to help Swiss memory institutions to share their curatorial knowledge, collections and resources in a digital manner, with a global community through a global platform, making the Swiss cultural heritage and its diversity more discoverable and accessible to the world.

Wikimedia CH’s services for GLAMs:

– We share our knowledge and experience in respect to digitalization with Swiss cultural institutions. This involves knowledge about the techniques to convert original material to digital, metadata for search and retrieval purpose, storage of digital material, dissemination of information, critical policies and privacy issues impacting the digital strategies of Swiss memory institutions.

– We provide people and resources to enable Swiss cultural organization of all sizes and in all geographical/language regions to create their own pages on Wikipedia and share knowledge. High quality training and digital tools help Swiss memory institutions to manage their resources, collection and content by themselves.

– We offer a global technology platform, information access in multiple languages, including background information and numerous links to data collections and footage, via multiple devices anytime and anywhere, allowing Swiss cultural organizations to reach new and more diversified audiences.

– We create added value by keeping abreast of innovative new technology solutions that we discuss with Swiss cultural institutions, and support them to gain insights about visitors, their preferences and behaviours, simultaneously enhancing visitors’ cultural experiences and rendering cultural education more accessible.

Some of our partners include: Swiss National Library, Swiss Federal Archives, ETH Library Zurich, Swiss Social Archives, SBB Historic, Archives Cantonales Vaudoises, EPFL Lausanne, MAMCO Geneva, Historic Museum Basel and many more.

If you would like to talk about a possible collaboration with Wikimedia CH, please contact us to set up an initial conversation:

 

Debora Lopomo
GLAM Program & Partnership Manager
debora.lopomo@wikimedia.ch

GLAM

Digitaliser le patrimoine suisse

L’acronyme GLAM vient de l’anglais et signifie « Galeries, bibliothèques, archives et musées ».

La mission de Wikimedia CH est d’aider les institutions de mémoire suisses à partager leurs connaissances, collections et ressources de conservation de manière numérique et ce avec une communauté mondiale par le biais d’une plateforme mondiale. Tout cela, afin de rendre le patrimoine culturel suisse et sa diversité plus accessibles au monde entier.

Les services de Wikimedia CH pour les GLAM :

– Nous partageons nos connaissances et notre expérience en matière de numérisation avec les institutions culturelles suisses. Il s’agit de communiquer des techniques de conversion du matériel original au numérique, d’organiser des métadonnées à des fins de recherche et de récupération, du stockage du matériel numérique, de la diffusion de l’information et des questions de protection de la vie privée qui ont une incidence sur les stratégies numériques des institutions de mémoire suisses.

– Nous mettons à disposition des personnes et des ressources pour permettre aux organisations culturelles suisses de toutes tailles et dans toutes les régions géographiques et linguistiques de créer leurs propres pages sur Wikipédia et de partager leurs connaissances. Une formation de haute qualité et des outils numériques aident les institutions de mémoire suisses à gérer elles-mêmes leurs ressources, leurs collections et leurs contenus.

– Nous offrons une plate-forme technologique mondiale, un accès à l’information en plusieurs langues, y compris des informations de base et de nombreux liens vers des collections de données et des séquences, via de multiples dispositifs, à tout moment et en tout lieu, permettant aux organisations culturelles suisses de toucher un public nouveau et plus diversifié.

– Nous créons de la valeur ajoutée en nous tenant au courant des nouvelles solutions technologiques innovantes et nous partageons ce savoir avec les institutions culturelles suisses. Ces informations leurs aident à mieux connaître leurs visiteurs, leurs préférences et leurs comportements, pour ensuite améliorer l’expérience culturelle.

Voici quelques-uns de nos partenaires : Bibliothèque nationale suisse, Archives fédérales suisses, Bibliothèque des EPF de Zurich, Archives sociales suisses, Archives historiques CFF, Archives cantonales vaudoises, EPFL à Lausanne, MAMCO Genève, Musée historique de Bâle et bien d’autres.

Si vous souhaitez discuter d’une éventuelle collaboration avec Wikimedia CH, n’hésitez pas à nous contacter pour établir un premier contact :

 

Debora Lopomo
GLAM Program & Partnership Manager
debora.lopomo@wikimedia.ch